Here we go again

Another typhoon. This time we were almost caught in it with P&K in Ginza; the stairs to the subway were already flooding convincingly enough that the cultural explorations of world’s most expensive shopping street was cut short and replaced by the ever so entertaining reality show on TV about trees falling and crushing cars and houses, electricity poles falling down and crushing houses, mountainsides sliding down and crushing houses, cars swept into rivers by the waters rushing by and bored-looking evacuated people passing their time in the temporary shelters.
Finished reading N. Stephenson’s Quicksilver – captivating even though very often my head was way too tired for keepinc count of all the dramatis personnae. I had a moment of indecision, pondering on whether I should continue straight away with Confusion – but opted for something softer, namely, the Tale of Genji. Afther one evening in the company of over 1000 years old novel (unabriged version, but, alas, in english..) I find it very enjoyable and suprisingly modern. I’ve read stories written some hundred years ago, and already there the distance in time is easily felt. In contrast, if I did not know, I could easily believe this story relates to things happening maybe 100 years ago in Japan…